Some, though not all, apps can sell your personal information

Uber Smartphone App / Want to Keep Your Online Accounts Secure? Revoke Access from Third-Party Apps
Image: Pexels
April 27, 2017

By now you've probably heard about how Uber used the Unroll.me app to scan customers' inboxes, collect e-receipts sent by competitor Lyft, and buy their anonymized data. This was allegedly done in an attempt to gauge how well Lyft was doing as a business, not to harm the customer.

But not all apps are created equal. Some developers and companies do not have the consumer's best interests in mind, and their apps can be dangerous.

For this reason, it's a good idea to go through all of your accounts once in a while and take away access from any third-party apps connected to them.

Here's how to revoke access from third-party apps to keep the most common online accounts secure.

Google

  1. Click on your profile picture
  2. Choose My Accounts
  3. Under Sign-in & security, click on Connected apps & sites
  4. Under Apps connected to your account, click MANAGE APP
  5. Click the app(s) from which you want access revoked
  6. Click REMOVE, then OK

Yahoo

  1. Click your profile icon
  2. Choose Account Info, then Recent Activity
  3. Click Remove beside the apps in question

Facebook

  1. Go to Setting, then Apps
  2. Choose App Settings, then Show All
  3. Hover the cursor over the app, then click the X icon to remove it

Twitter

  1. Click on your profile picture
  2. Choose Settings and Privacy, then Apps
  3. Choose Revoke Access on the apps

Dropbox

  1. Go to your profile icon
  2. Go to Settings, then Security
  3. At the bottom of the page will be a list of apps with access. Click the X beside each
  4. Click Uninstall to remove the app
References: LifeHacker: "How to Secure Your Online Accounts By Revoking Access From Third-Party Apps"