AAA Carolinas Names North Carolina's 2012 Traffic Safe Communities
Image: Pexels

The North Carolina towns of Highlands, Holly Springs and Chapel Hill have been named top 2012 North Carolina Traffic Safe Communities by the AAA Carolinas Foundation for Traffic Safety.

The three join a total of 16 cities and towns across the state recognized for efforts made in traffic safety over the past year.

Winners were chosen in three categories: communities under 10,000 in population, those with 10,000 to 30,000 residents, and towns and cities with more than 30,000 in population.

AAA Carolinas' Foundation for Traffic Safety provides awards in an effort to recognize those cities that make a strong effort to make our state's roads safer.

The foundation recognized 13 other communities with Outstanding Traffic Safe Community awards for leadership in traffic safety including: (* repeat winners)

Population greater than 30,000:

  • Kannapolis* (Cabarrus County)
  • Cary* (Wake County)
  • Wilson* (Wilson County)
  • Huntersville* (Mecklenburg County)
  • Jacksonville* (Onslow County)

Population between 10,000 and 30,000:

  • Laurinburg* (Scotland County)
  • New Bern* (Craven County)
  • Mint Hill (Mecklenburg County)
  • Waynesville (Haywood County)

Population less than 10,000:

  • Biltmore Forest (Buncombe County)
  • Montreat (Buncombe County)
  • Stoneville (Rockingham County)
  • Seaboard (Northampton County)

Traffic safe communities are selected by looking at crash statistics, the number of law enforcement officers per capita, the presence of a formal traffic safety program and/or existence of a special traffic division.

AAA Carolinas Foundation for Traffic Safety is a nonprofit organization founded by AAA Carolinas and funded by AAA Carolinas' member contributions that works to promote traffic safety initiatives in North and South Carolina.