New NCDMV Vehicle Registration Regulations for Mopeds Begin July 1
As of July 1, 2015, all mopeds operating in North Carolina are required to be registered with the NC Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV).
The new regulations, in accordance with House Bill 1145, require all moped operators to register their vehicle with the DMV and obtain a registration card and license plate, which must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle at all times.
Moped operators will be required to visit their local license plate agency for the registration process. The office locations can be found on the DMV website.
The cost of registering each moped is $18 annually. Durham ($15), Orange ($15), Randolph ($1) and Wake ($5) counties each charge an additional transit tax.
All moped operators must be 16 years of age or older and must have a valid N.C. driver license or N.C. ID card along with the moped manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO). If an operator does not have an MCO for their vehicle, the operator can fill out an Affidavit of Facts for the Registration of a Moped form to serve as proof of ownership.
State statute defines a moped as having: 1) two or three wheels with an engine capacity of 50 cubic centimeters or less, 2) no external shifting device or the ability to exceed 30 miles per hour on a level surface.
To help customers determine if their vehicle falls within the moped category, Division License and Theft Bureau inspectors will be available at most license plate agencies across the state during the first week of July to answer questions. If a License and Theft inspector is not available, you can visit your nearest License and Theft District office.
Please visit the Division's website to find Frequently Asked Questions and other information about registering and operating a moped in North Carolina.