New Phishing Scam Targeting Instagram Users with Fake Posts

The con tries to trick Instagram users for the purpose of stealing usernames and passwords

New Phishing Scam Targeting Instagram Users with Fake Posts
Image: NCCC
July 7, 2016

A new scam making the rounds is attempting to fool Instagram users into providing sensitive information.

Users report receiving a notification on Instagram saying that they have been tagged by a friend in a mean-spirited post called the "Ugly List 2016."

To view the full post, there's a link that must be clicked within the notification. If you click on the link, you're taken to what appears to be the Instagram login page. Your username and password must be entered before continuing to the "Ugly List."

Don't be fooled! The login page is fake. It's a way for scammers to steal usernames and passwords from unsuspecting Instagram users—information that can then be used to hack your account and tag your followers in new "Ugly List" posts, perpetuating the con and stealing more user information.

To avoid becoming a victim of this scam:

Do a quick search. Be wary of anything that is shocking or sensational on Instagram or any other social media outlet. If something seems suspicious, do an online search. If it's a scam, chances are that other victims have posted complaints and information online.

Be vigilant, even with friends. Just because something is posted on a friend's page doesn't automatically make it legit. It might not actually be them "liking" or sharing these scam posts. Their account may have been hacked or spoofed.

Hover over a link to see its true destination. Before you click on a link, mouse over it to see where it will take you. Don't click on links leading to unfamiliar websites.

Report all possible scams Instagram. If you are targeted by this or another scam, report it to Instagram immediately.

If you suspect that your account has been hacked, see Instagram's advice on securing your account and/or reporting the violation.